ÜBER UNS


Probe für Nothing about us without us – Intersektionale performative Intervention im öffentlichen Stadtraum und in der Institution (Paradeplatz Zürich und Helmhaus) – Kooperation von RJSaK mit der grossen um_ordnung 2018

Das Roma Jam Session Art Kollektiv (RJSaK) ist das erste Künstler*innenkollektiv in der Schweiz und in Europa, das mit performativen Mitteln im öffentlichen Raum und in Kunstinstitutionen auftritt, um aktuelle Fragen der Roma sichtbar zu machen. Die in Zürich ansässige Künstler*innengruppe arbeitet transdisziplinär mit Mitgliedern aus Kunst, Theater, Musik und Design. Seit ihrer ersten Intervention in einem lokalen Kunstraum im Jahr 2013 hat RJSaK ihre Arbeiten in Zürich in der Shedhalle, dem Corner College, Maxim Theater, Toni Areal, ZHdK, Kunsthaus, Johann Jacobs Museum, Helmhaus und in Basel im Kunstmuseum gezeigt. Neben ihren öffentlichen Auftritten engagiert sich das Kollektiv aktivistisch, auch mit anderen Roma Organisationen und mit NGOs in Kampagnen. RJSaK war von 2014 – 2016 in einer Arbeitsgruppe des Bundesamtes für Kultur (BAK) aktiv, in der Rechte und die Anerkennung der Minderheiten der Roma, Sinti und Jenischen in der Schweiz diskutiert und bearbeitet wurden. Leider wurde die Anerkennung der Roma im Gegensatz zu den Sinti und Jenischen in einem Beschluss des Bundesrates vom Juni 2018 abgelehnt, was dazu geführt hat, dass sich die Roma Community in der Schweiz heute politisch und kulturell mehr und mehr isoliert fühlt. Aufgrund des schwierigen Status der Roma als transnationale Minderheit in der Schweiz hat RJSaK sich neu orientiert. Unter anderem brachte RJSaK die Intervention CHROMA – sudden presences im April 2018 an die 1.Roma-Biennale und die Romaparade nach Berlin. Das Kollektiv hat sich seither sowohl transnational wie auch intersektional weiterentwickelt und ist eine Kooperation mit der grossen um_ordnung, einem querfeministischen Kunstprojekt mit vielen Allianzen, eingegangen. Im Januar 2019 wird RJSaK aktiv am Launch des RomArchives, dem ersten digitalen Archiv zu Geschichte, Kultur, Politik und Kunst der Roma in Europa, teilnehmen.
Für 2019 kündigt RJSaK zudem stolz ihre erste Publikation an. Sie wird nebst einer Zusammenstellung der wichtigsten Arbeiten der letzten fünf Jahre die Arbeitsstrukturen und das Engagement des Kollektivs in den Bereichen Kunst und Aktivismus beleuchten. Erste Einblicke sind geplant für den internationalen Tag der Roma rund um den 8. April 2019.

About


Rehearsal for Nothing about us without us – intersectional performative intervention in urban space and institution (Paradeplatz Zurich and Helmhaus) – RJSaK cooperation with die grosse um_ordnung 2018

The Roma Jam Session Art Collective (RJSaK) is the first artist collective in Switzerland and Europe to perform in public space and art institutions with performative means in order to make the current issues of the Roma as a group of multiple communities visible. The Zurich based artist group transdisciplinary works with members from art, theater, music and design. Since their first intervention in a local art space in 2013, RJSaK has shown their work in Zurich at the Shedhalle, Corner College, Maxim Theater, Toni Areal, ZHdK, Kunsthaus, Johann Jacobs Museum, Helmhaus and in Basel at the Kunstmuseum. In addition to their public appearances, the collective is actively involved, also with other Roma organizations and with NGOs in campaigns. RJSaK was active from 2014 to 2016 in a working group of the Federal Office for Culture (BAK), in which rights and the recognition of the minorities of the Roma, Sinti and Jenisch in Switzerland were discussed and worked on. Unfortunately, in contrast to the Sinti and Jenisch, the recognition of the Roma was rejected in a decision of the Federal Council of June 2018, which has led to the fact that the Roma community in Switzerland today feels more and more isolated politically and culturally. Due to the difficult status of the Roma as a transnational minority in Switzerland, RJSaK has reoriented itself. Among other things, RJSaK brought the intervention CHROMA – sudden presences in April 2018 to the 1st Roma Biennale and the Romaparade to Berlin. Since then, the collective has developed both transnationally and intersectionally, and has entered into cooperation with die grosse um_ordnung, a queer-feminist art project with manyfold alliances. In January 2019, RJSaK will actively participate in the launch of the RomArchive, the first digital archive on the history, culture, politics and art of the Roma in Europe. For 2019, RJSaK proudly announces its first publication. It will shed light on a collection of the most important works of the last five years, the working structures and the collective’s commitment to art and activism. A first digital version of the publication is planned for the International Day of Roma around the 8th of April 2019.

News

  • Basic Roma
  • Drive In – Drop Out / Hack the G L A M Code
  • ESTETIKA WALK

    27th May 2016 between 7 and 8 p.m. ESTETIKA WALK
    Performance by RJSaK and Friends
    in context of the launching event of The Air Will Not Deny You – Zürich im Zeichen einer anderen Globalität at Johann Jacobs Museum:
    Adresse: Johann Jacobs Museum / Seefeldquai 17 / 8034 Zürich

  • BASIC ROMA (EN)

    Sunday the 6th of September 2015 5p.m. Special act with the “Roma Jam Session art Kollektiv” in the exhibition «Europe. the future of history»

  • ROM SOM

    Friday 7th of August 2015 6 p.m. Horse Racecourse Schachen Aarau (near Reithalle). We are part of the summer college 2015 of the adult education center (VHS) Aarau. This will be an open-air event and performed in any weather condition. The performance will be closed by an Apéro.